Municipal Advisor Registration - Effect of Proposed Rules on Issuer and Obligor Boards

Hawkins Advisory

Section 975 of the Dodd‐Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act (the “Dodd‐Frank Act”) amended Section 15B of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (as amended, the “Exchange Act”), effective October 1, 2010, to, among other things, (1) require municipal advisors to register with the Securities and Exchange Commission (the “SEC”), (2) establish a fiduciary duty between a municipal advisor and a municipal entity for which it is acting as a municipal advisor,1 and (3) subject municipal advisors to additional anti‐fraud provisions.2 The SEC adopted an interim final temporary rule (Rule 15Ba2‐6T; the “Temporary Rule”) to enable municipal advisors to satisfy the statutory requirement to register with the SEC, which rule became effective October 1, 2010, and expires on December 31, 2011.

Also of Interest

  • Cybersecurity - Municipal Disclosure
    This Advisory describes recent developments regarding disclosure of cybersecurity risks and incidents and their import for municipal disclosure.
  • Municipal Market Regulatory Update
    This Hawkins Advisory describes the proposed amendments to Rule 15c2-12 and provides a summary and analysis of SEC municipal enforcement actions over the last year.
  • Hawkins Assists City and County of San Francisco with Financing of 55-Story Residential Building
    In December 2016, Hawkins served as disclosure counsel to the City and County of San Francisco in connection with its issuance of $240 million Variable Rate Multifamily Housing Revenue Bonds (Transbay Block 8 Tower) issued on behalf of an affiliate of the developer, Related Companies. The bonds will finance a portion of the cost of a new $600 million 55-story tower and surrounding buildings in downtown San Francisco.
  • MCDC Settlements with Issuers
    Today, the Securities and Exchange Commission (“SEC”) entered into cease‐and‐desist settlement orders with 71 municipal issuers and obligated persons, across 45 states, that had self‐reported pursuant to the SEC’s Division of Enforcement’s Municipalities Continuing Disclosure Cooperation (“MCDC”) Initiative.